A regular coffee glass or cup has a handle to prevent you from risking burns. That’s why a normal glass is not suitable for hot coffee. The Danish company Bodum found a solution to this problem. They developed a line of double-walled design drinking glasses.
The glasses are provided with an insulating air chamber between the inner and outer glass surfaces. This prevents you from hand burns. It’s also an advantage for cold beverages with hands that are temperature sensitive. Besides the excellent isolation, it also looks great when the glass is filled with liquid.
I thought it would be fun to show you how to model this double-walled drinking glass in SOLIDWORKS. I will also show you how to make a rendering of the glass model in PhotoView 360 (integrated into SOLIDWORKS). As icing on the cake, I’m also going to show you how to add liquid and ice cubes to your rendering using Adobe Photoshop.
Click here to download the working files for this lesson (blueprint, eBook & render files).
Happy modeling! 🙂
Jan
P.S. I encourage you to share this tutorial with your network.
Click here to download this tutorial as a free eBook (PDF).
Disclaimer: The intellectual property depicted in this 3D model, is not affiliated with or endorsed by Bodum. This 3D model may not be used for any commercial, promotional, advertising or merchandising use.
In this tutorial you will learn how to use the following functions:
Enjoy it!
Jan
Open a new part with model units set to millimeters
Go to: File > New > Part
Create a 2D sketch
Select the Front Plane in the feature tree (menu at the left side) and create a
sketch by clicking on the 2D Sketch icon
The display changes so the Front plane faces you.
Insert a reference photo
For this tutorial, we use a photo of a Bodum glass as reference.
Click here to download the blueprint and save it into your SOLIDWORKS folder
Go to: Tools > Sketch Tools > Sketch Picture
Go to your SOLIDWORKS folder and select the photo “SIDEVIEW_BODUM_GLASS.Jpg”
Click: Open
Change the dimensions and position of the photo with the menu as shown in the picture.
Select ‘’Full image’’ in the Transparency tab and change the transparency into 0.50
Click OK
Click at the Sketch button in the upper right corner close the 2D Sketch
Create another 2D sketch
Select the Front Plane again and create another sketch by clicking on the 2D Sketch icon
Draw two centerlines
Go to Tools > Sketch Entities > Centerline or click at the Centerline icon
Draw a vertical centerline that starts at the origin.
Change the length of the line into 61 mm by clicking at the dimension button
Draw a horizontal centerline that starts at the upper endpoint of the vertical centerline
Change the length of the line into 26 mm by clicking at the dimension button
Draw three solid lines
Go to Tools > Sketch Entities > Line or click at the Line icon
Draw the three lines as shown in the picture
Change the lengths of the lines by clicking at the dimension button
Draw a spline without midpoints
Go to Tools > Sketch Entities > Spline or click at the Spline icon
Draw a spline as shown in the picture without a midpoint
Right mouse button > Select
Change the curve of the Spline like the picture
Click at the Top point of the spline > The grey arrows of the Spline appear
Click and drag the round endpoint of the grey arrow as shown in the picture (the orange dot)
Click at the Lower point of the spline > The grey arrows of the Spline appear
Click and drag the round endpoint of the grey arrow as shown in the picture (the orange dot)
Try to create the curve of the glass as shown in the picture
Draw a second spline without midpoints
Go to Tools > Sketch Entities > Spline or click at the Spline icon
Draw a spline as shown in the picture without a midpoint
Right mouse button > Select
Change the curve of the Spline like the picture
Click at the Top point of the spline > The grey arrows of the Spline appear
Click and drag the round endpoint of the grey arrow as shown in the picture (the orange dot)
Click at the Lower point of the spline > The grey arrows of the Spline appear
Click and drag the round endpoint of the grey arrow as shown in the picture (the orange dot)
Try to create the curve of the glass as shown in the picture
Add a tangency relation add the end of the spline
Click at the orange dot as shown in the picture
Select the Horizontal relation in the Spline menu bar at the left side
The endpoint of the spline is fully tangent now
Create a Revolve
Go to Insert > Boss/Base > Revolve or click at the Revolve icon
Click at the vertical Centerline to define the Axis of Revolution
Use the One-Direction option
Set the Revolution Angle to 360 degrees
Click OK
Create two Fillets
Go to: Insert > Features > Fillet/Round or click at the Fillet icon
Click at the blue edges as shown in the picture
Change the Radius into 1 mm
Click OK
Create another Fillet
Go to: Insert > Features > Fillet/Round or click at the Fillet icon
Click at the blue edges as shown in the picture
Change the Radius into 5 mm
Click OK
Change the transparency of the glass
Select an arbitrary face of the glass
Click at the appearances button
Click at the Part name
Click at the dropdown menu called ‘’standard’’
Select the Transparent option
Change the color into white
Click OK
Create a Shell
Now it’s time to convert the Solid glass into a double walled glass. We will use the Shell feature for this.
Go to: Insert > Features > Shell or click at the Shell icon
Change the Thickness into 1 mm
Click OK
Congratulations, you just finished your own double-walled drinking glass!
Click here to download this tutorial as a free eBook (PDF).
I hope you liked this LearnSOLIDWORKS tutorial!
Do you want to help me spread this tutorial with your network?
You can do this by using the social media bar on this page. Every share is greatly appreciated. This allows me to reach more people and develop more valuable SOLIDWORKS tutorials for you.
Thanks a million!
Jan
Most SOLIDWORKS users stay stuck because they learn features instead of learning how to build real products.
In this free SOLIDWORKS Masterclass, I’ll show you the step-by-step approach I use to model complex, portfolio-worthy products — from the first sketch to the final details.
You’ll see how products like Formula 1 cars, yachts, aircraft, motorcycles, and sports cars can be broken down into simple modeling stages using a clear workflow.
Sound good?
Click here to reserve your free seat for the SOLIDWORKS Masterclass!
LearnSOLIDWORKS.com
Zuyderduyn Design
Goes
The Netherlands
KvK: 32154295
VAT-ID: NL001103448B95
34 comments. Leave new
All the tutorials posted are very good for beginners
Hey,
Great looking stuff !
enjoyed going through the tutorials.
I was wondering how did you get this rendering done, what software …..
it would be great to have a tutorial for this rendering (with the liquids)
thanks and keep doing a great job
Hi Itamar,
You’re welcome! 🙂 The rendering is done with PhotoView360 for the glass. The purple liquid splashes are done using Photoshop so not in 3D 😉 If you want to render liquids in 3D I recommend you to use Mudbox or Maya
am enjoying every minute i spend doing this tutorial. thanx
looking nice
i am very glad that u have done such a good job . in this way we are getting some extra knowledge . and do u have any video tutorials also if yes then please upload the links … thank you
Your Comments Really I am enjoying your tutorials and i am being a fresh student for you actually i am working as a Aluminium extrusion designer and i am lerner in this software. previsoly i was working Auto cad in my new company there are people known to this software.
need more tutorial free of cost…
Hi Siddarth,
More free SolidWorks tutorials are comming! 🙂
Your Comments I.would like to learn solidworks
Life is short, and this artclie saved valuable time on this Earth.
Great tutorials! can you place a free tutorial about rendering as nice as you have done it with this bodum glass?
Thanks!
Hi Michiel, at this moment is my PhotoView 360 iPhone tutorial the only one where I teach how to create realistic renders. I’ll let you know when I’ve some free stuff about this subject.
I Wd Like To lern about solid parts assembly .And thise great
very useful …………great
Anyone knows how to do modeling of Boeing 737 airplane?
Hi Jong, you can download a free SolidWorks model of a Boeing 707 here: http://grabcad.com/library/boeing-707-from-airplane You can use it as reference object for your Boeing 737. Good luck and send me some pictures when it’s finished! 🙂
i am beginner for solid work so i want full specifications tutorials lesson.
thanks.
nice TUtorial.. very intresting and enjoying… 🙂
Nice job sir
Amazing Looking………….
Your Comments I really appreciated this work. i need more tutorials plz send if u can it’s lot of help to improve my solid works ability again nice piece of work
very good . please send tjis tutorial and other good tutorials
Hi Jon.very very good and very useful.thank
Jan you are too much….ur tutorials are well explaind…..u boosted my morals….thank you very much….pls whats ur email address…..
Hi Amos! Thanks! 🙂 My emailadress is info@learnsolidworks.com
Hi, Jan. Thank you. Found some new features 🙂
thankful
:))
Hey there can u tell me how to add liquids to this? I know u said photoshop but id love to learn to just add elements to my renders to make them just that bit better, like non perfect ice, or a liquid?
thanx
ps awsome tutorials 😀
Well, you can add liquids in 3ds Max but SolidWorks is much more difficult. I still recommend Photoshop for a splashy liquid 🙂
Hey Jan.
You are awesome..this is amazing…I have learnt features that i would have never even turned to while developing products.
Thanx man
Hi Arvind, Youre welcome! Let me know when you have any specific questions about some features.
Thank you very much for all. Happy new year 2016!My best regards.
Serghe BADEA.